iOS 16 Release Date, Features And Other Details

Initially unveiled in June at Apple’s Worldwide Developers Conference, iOS 16 is now available in the majority of nations worldwide as of today, September 12, 2022. Due to a simultaneous release in every country, some won’t experience a launch until the early hours of September 13.

iOS 16 Release Date, Features And Other Details
iOS 16 Release Date, Features And Other Details

Though Apple hasn’t formally disclosed the timing of iOS 16’s release, past releases give us a pretty decent indication of what to expect since the company normally delivers significant operating system updates at roughly 10:00 a.m. Pacific Time. There have been a few outliers to this schedule, but they have only happened very rarely and almost always in situations that aren’t present for iOS 16.
If the usual 10:00 a.m. Pacific launch schedule is used, iOS 16 will be accessible around these times.

  • Honolulu, Hawaii — 7:00 a.m. HAST
  • Anchorage, Alaska — 9:00 a.m. AKDT
  • Cupertino, California — 10:00 a.m. PDT
  • Phoenix, Arizona — 10:00 a.m. MST
  • Vancouver, Canada — 10:00 a.m. PDT
  • Denver, Colorado — 11:00 a.m. MDT
  • Dallas, Texas — 12:00 noon CDT
  • New York, New York — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Toronto, Canada — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Halifax, Canada — 2:00 p.m. ADT
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil — 2:00 p.m. BRT
  • London, United Kingdom — 6:00 p.m. BST
  • Shanghai, China — 1:00 a.m. CST next day
  • Singapore — 1:00 a.m. SGT next day
  • Perth, Australia — 1:00 a.m. AWST next day
  • Hong Kong — 1:00 a.m. HKT next day
  • Seoul, South Korea — 2:00 a.m. KST next day
  • Tokyo, Japan — 2:00 a.m. JST next day
  • Adelaide, Australia — 2:30 a.m. ACST next day
  • Sydney, Australia — 3:00 a.m. AEST next day
  • Auckland, New Zealand — 5:00 a.m. NZST next day
  • Berlin, Germany — 7:00 p.m. CEST
  • Paris, France — 7:00 p.m. CEST
  • Cape Town, South Africa — 7:00 p.m. SAST
  • Moscow, Russia — 8:00 p.m. MSK
  • Helsinki, Finland — 8:00 p.m. EEST
  • Istanbul, Turkey — 8:00 p.m. TRT
  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates — 9:00 p.m. GST
  • Delhi, India — 10:30 p.m. IST
  • Jakarta, Indonesia — 12:00 a.m. WIB next day

It should be noted that iPadOS 16 will not be released concurrently with iOS 16 today, which is an unusual distinction in Apple’s release cycle. Early in August, Bloomberg said that Apple intended to postpone the release of iPadOS 16 until October. Since then, Apple has confirmed that iPadOS 16 will in fact be released at some point in October.

Features of IOS 16

Reimagined Lock Screen Lock Screen

With brand-new methods to customise their Lock Screen, users will be able to make their iPhone distinctive. To access information quickly, showcase favourite photographs, alter font styles, and display a range of widgets.
Widgets

The user may instantly peek at information from their favourite apps, including weather, calendar events, date, time zones, alarms, battery life, Activity ring progress, and more, using widgets on the Lock Screen.
Make several lock screens

Now, the user may effortlessly switch between various Lock Screens, each with a different background and aesthetic. For ideas, peruse a gallery of wallpapers with suggested images and thematic themes.

Notifications

Notifications show at the bottom of the screen so they remain out of the way and the user can view them on the Lock Screen in an enlarged list view, stacked view, or hidden view.
Actual Activities

From their Lock Screen, users may more easily keep up with events that are happening in real time thanks to Live Activities. Without unlocking their device, the user can check the status of their food delivery or use the Now Playing controls.

Focus
Set up a Focus quickly

Focus’s new simplified configuration allows users to choose which apps and contacts they wish to get notifications from simply permitting or disabling them. Connecting the Lock Screen to Focus will ensure that the iPhone’s appearance and feel correspond to how the user intends to use it at any given time. The user can switch from their Personal Focus to their Work Focus with a swipe, and widgets displaying upcoming meetings and to-do lists are available.

Photos
Ingenious ways to share

Users can opt to add old photos based on a start date or the persons in the pictures when they create or join a Shared Photo Library. After creating the shared library, the user can instantly share photographs from Camera, select to automatically share when other shared library users are around, and receive insightful For You ideas for adding photos to the shared library.
All edits and updates are synchronised

For uploading, editing, and removing photographs from the shared library, everyone has the same rights. Everyone benefits if the collection is organised by one person because favourites, captions, and keywords sync as well.

Messages
Improved daily messaging

The user can now edit a message they just sent or decide not to send it at all. If they can’t react right away and want to return to it later, they can also mark a message as unread.
PlayShare via messages

The user can communicate with pals in Messages about watching the most recent episode of their favourite show or listening to a new music. Shared playback controls make sure that everyone is constantly in sync.
Enhanced cooperation

To start working together right away, share notes, presentations, reminders, Safari Tab Groups, and more in Messages. Updates on shared projects can be seen in the thread, and you can simply contact your collaborators from within the programme you’re using.

Mail

Better Search

Search offers ideas before the user starts typing and returns more thorough and accurate results.
Shared Tab Groups Between Safari and Passkeys

Send messages, share bookmarks and tabs, and launch FaceTime directly from Safari. The user can share all the tabs in one location, and when they find something fantastic, they can add tabs as well, whether they are organising a trip with friends or looking for a couch with their lover.

Intelligence

Live captions for videos

To use common activities like copy, translate, look up, share, and more, pause a movie on any text-filled frame.
Live Text’s swift movements

The ability to contact phones, view websites, change currencies, translate languages, and more is now even more simple.

Dictation Use the keyboard and dictation simultaneously.

 

To type text, switch fluidly between voice and touch. Without pausing Dictation, you can use the keyboard to type, tap in the text field, move the cursor, and input QuickType suggestions.

Wallet

Safely distribute keys

Using your preferred messaging services, such as Messages, Mail, and WhatsApp, securely share keys. The user controls when and where their keys can be used, and they are always able to revoke them.

Control your Apple Watch on your iPhone by using Switch Control, Voice Control, or any other assistive feature.

 

Leave a Comment